Help needed on music theory

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Sooper8, Oct 19, 2012.

1. Sooper8

Sooper8 Tele-Holic

Hi All,

Long time guitar player and musician but I have never really paid any attention to theory or notation or even anything beyond what I needed to play songs in bands.

I am also a teacher and this year I have been asked to teach music to children in a school until Christmas. However, I am not a trained music teacher , I just got the job because they know I play guitar.

So - I can teach pretty much what I want (the children are age between 8 and 13 years old), I have a few schemes of work but nothing is set in stone and I can adapt and change and make up new things.

First of all- any theory books for music that you could highly recommend? (or web sites)
    Secondly , any music teacher types around here who could offer some lesson ideas or general thoughts on great teaching ideas?

I just bought a few ukeleles for the department and plan on using those as well as guitar.

Thoughts appreciated
    Thanks

2. brewwagon

brewwagon Poster Extraordinaire

hows your dog?

3. Steveareno

Steveareno Tele-Afflicted

Don't get too hung up on theory with the kids. Learning to play easy songs, they're familiar with will encourage them to advance with natural enthusiasm. A good chord dictionary book, with clear diagrams is a great investment and will be something they turn to time and time again. I still refer to a Gene Leis chord book, I've had since the late 60's. Theory comes with the territory as you learn jazz standards, swing, ballads and R&B tunes with the "candy changes". Getting hip to tablature is also a big help. Mi dos centavos.
    Swang on,

4. Henry

Henry Tele-Holic

Steveareno's got the right idea, keep it fun. I think starting the class strumming and then introducing a goal to work toward might also help. Get the kids making a noise then try and work it into a performance they can put on for their families.