[Help needed] High E too close to edge of fretboard... nut, bridge, something else?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by sixstringedmatt, Jan 16, 2020.

1. sixstringedmatt

sixstringedmatt TDPRI Member

Hi all,

I just received a new Vintera 50s modded tele and think the high E is a little too close to the edge of the fretboard. When I do pull offs, it slips off the neck way too easily. The string also hugs the saddle screw, which I know is an issue.

I am relatively new to teles and unware if this is normal. Could you take a look at the photos and weigh in?

For context, I ordered online - it was a long story where the used one I ordered was damaged by UPS and the shop sent me a new one for free, which I thought was very kind. I need to determine if I should ask them to reduce what I paid to have a new nut made? This thing plays great so far, so I am not opposed to having the work done in that case.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. schmee

schmee Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

First, make sure your strings are evenly space on the bridge. They don't appear to be now. Grooved brass segments would be better but those will work. Loose a few turns and get them right. They should be spaced identical to the holes they pass through the bridge.

You can improve that edge margin a lot by:
    -loosen the strings bit
    -loosen the 4 neck screws
    -tilt the neck upward until the string edge margin looks good.
    -Tighten the neck screws back up

This will only work if there is some edge space in the neck pocket. But does usually work.
    However that nut looks unevenly notched. But where the string edge margin matters most is further up the neck.

3. ElJay370

ElJay370 Tele-Holic

The nut isn't the issue. I don't even think the neck needs realignment.