1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

help needed from you gurus, about TUBE AMP KITS

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by juancaca, Nov 15, 2013.

1. juancaca

juancaca TDPRI Member

im researching tube amp kits...

searching for:

1)most common tubes (easy to get new ones, im living in mexico and not to easy to get them)
    2)less tubes (same reason: better 5 tubes than 9)
    3)begg or intermediate level im a lawyer go figure my soldering skills! lol!
    4)25 to 60 watts but better closer to 40w (figured that is ok for house-jam band once in a month situations)...
    5)not xpensive but "turret style" not circuit board, head, for my 2 x 12 cab, 125RMS 8ohms each speaker....

my researching bring me to marshall JTM-45, but it appears is "around" 25-35 watts ...not sure if is enough to play with drummer in garage band situation, i want good headroom to use cleans with drummer... not know about availability of replacement tubes for ...
    then i found JTM variations JTM-50, JTM "our version of the classic" and i found it has 4 imputs???? and im confused if is really what i need

...so, with my needs ANY SUGGESTION??? thanks so much in advise!!

2. marshman

marshman Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

The JTM is a fabulous amp and plenty to play with a drummer in all but the loudest conditions. I've never built one, but it is a relatively simple build, and uses common, currently-produced tubes. It lacks reverb, but that's a personal option, I have several amps without. For volume control, different speakers can be used as long as the impedance matched, so, if possible, find a kit that provides for a multi-impedance output.