Help needed...binding Spalt maple top

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by torodurham, Sep 12, 2019.

1. torodurham

torodurham Tele-Meister

I have two spalt maple drop tops I'm going to bind with 1/4" grained ivoroid cellulose .060 thick.
    I have no experience binding spalt maple and am expecting the binding channel will need to treated somehow prior to installing binding..? Can acetone be used as the adhesive with no prep...as I do all other binding installs?
    Any details from experienced installers would greatly be appreciated!
    Thanks! 20190908_200017.jpg

DonM, dented, Macrogats and 3 others like this.
  2. Davecam48

Davecam48 Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

Wow!!!!! and Wow!!!!!

Beeeee U tifull !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Love the second one where the neck will go.....................looks like an old hound dog with something in his mouth!!!:)

DC

Last edited: Sep 12, 2019
    Orpingtons, Macrogats and zippofan like this.
  3. Davecam48

Davecam48 Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

Just spotted another old hairy dog at the bottom of the same body!!! Just frame that one and hang on the wall ....it is art!

Shame to cover them up with pickups and necks etc.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

DC

4. Jim_in_PA

Jim_in_PA Tele-Holic Ad Free Member

Those are two totally captivating tops! Wowsa!

On your question, you'll want to insure that the edges are stable after you cut your rebate...in fact, I'd probably treat the edges before cutting the rebate, too, not just after. You can judge how much you have to pay attention to this based on what you need to do to to the face of those caps to get them where you are comfortable with the surface. You could use the same preparation, perhaps thinned a bit so it wicks, let it harden, lightly abrade it so you have a good surface to glue on your binding. I'm not familiar with using acetone directly as an adhesive for something like this, so others will have to comment on that.

5. Meteorman

Meteorman Tele-Holic