1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Help Me Understand Solid vs. desktop Amp

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by ddk1, Sep 1, 2020.

1. ddk1

ddk1 TDPRI Member

I'm a bit of a newb in the gear dept so please bear with me. I was pretty much set on purchasing either the Fender Champ 50XL or Boss Katana 50 as a practice amp for my apartment. But I've also been looking at some of the desktop amps like the Yamaha THR, Vox Adio, and Mini Katana. A desktop amp would be something to consider for the smaller size, and since I'll likely keep on relatively low volume while practicing.

The question I have is why are pretty much all the desktop amps $100-200 more as they are smaller and less wattage (and some case battery only) amps. Are the tones stronger and cleaner than a bigger solid like Champ50XL or Katana 50?

What would you consider buying?

2. Octorfunk

Octorfunk Tele-Holic

It really depends on what you want/need from an amp. If you're going to play mostly quiet or with headphones, I honestly think just about any modeling amp will work just fine.

If you ever want the option of playing louder and with other instruments in a band though, you probably want to go with the Champion or the larger Katana, just for sheer volume. Being modeling amps though, even the bigger models are going to do well at very low volumes.

For me personally , I would also check into the Fender Champion series. Its basically the same amp sims as the Champ 50XL, but in a more streamlined, user-friendly package. Not as capable, there aren't any menus to mess with, but if you are fairly new to gear I think its perfect. I've been playing for about 20yrs now and would take a Champion 40 over a Champ 50XL, just because I hate fiddling with menus/optiins.

hdvades and Ronzo like this.
  3. Wallaby