Help me pick a new looper

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by PurpleStrat, Jul 16, 2020.

  1. PurpleStrat

    PurpleStrat Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    421
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    As much as I know about basic effects I know nothing about looper except that mine a Digetech JamMan is noisey when plugged up. Even if it's not on it makes terrible noise in the power supply? Is that normal?

    Besides noise I would like better quality recorded loops. Mine is so old I'm sure many are better. I want it to be pretty simple.

    Mainly use it for song ideas and little demos since I have no computer to record on.

    Around $150. What should I look at?
     
  2. DougM

    DougM Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,385
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    JamManSoloXT-large.jpg Products22203-1200x1200-1524424552.jpg 1488806712NUX Loop Core effectpedaal front.jpg hartke-hl77-looper-2.jpg My Digitech Jamman Solo XT is noiseless. I like it 'cause I can load 200 chord progressions in it for quick playback, instead of those with storage for only one loop where you have to record a new song in every time. The other affordable ones with that capability are the Boss RC3, and Nux Loop Core, also sold under the Hartke name. There are also fancier and more expensive Boss and EHX ones, but the affordable EHX 360 and 720 hold fewer loops and have less total storage time.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2020
  3. DougM

    DougM Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,385
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    nano-looper-360.png IMG_8535.jpg
     
  4. Guitarteach

    Guitarteach Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,595
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    Boss RC3.

    Bombproof design. 99 memory slots, loads of memory and basic metronome & drums to develop tunes or practice with.
     
    nicknklv and DougM like this.
  5. Obsessed

    Obsessed Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    24,313
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Montana
    I've had a Jamman Stereo for ages and no noise, so I suspect something is wrong with your set up. Nevertheless, hands down, but expensive is the Trio Plus. I plug my T+ into my Jamman Stereo for the ultimate looping lifestyle.
     
    DougM likes this.
  6. DougM

    DougM Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,385
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    That was one of my suggestions too. I only got the Digitech instead of the RC3 because it cost less, especially since I got it at the store where I worked and I got it at cost.
     
  7. rokasjmusic

    rokasjmusic TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Boss Rc3 is a solid choice. Love mine

    The only thing I dislike about single switch loopers is you have to double tap to stop the loop. It makes it awkward coordination wise. Although it is standard feature - Tc ditto was the same
     
    BorderRadio likes this.
  8. nicknklv

    nicknklv Tele-Meister

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2020
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Get a nice RC-3. There is no way you can go wrong with it. Don't exclude the possibility of a great condition second hand one, it is a Boss so it's built tough. Picked mine up used from a music store for ~$90. Then spend the rest of your budget on picks. :D
     
  9. wrathfuldeity

    wrathfuldeity Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Location:
    Turdcaster, WA
    Someone here cued me on this: Ditto > JamMan solo xt. Ditto for grabbing ideas on the fly and the solo xt for a large bank of saving the ideas that work. I also got the 3 button foot switch for the solo xt...very convenient. So the ditto and the 3 button foot switch are on the floor and the xt is with in reach on the desk.
     
  10. Guitarteach

    Guitarteach Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,595
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    The external foot-switch options on the RC3 allow for that.
     
  11. rokasjmusic

    rokasjmusic TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Location:
    Lithuania
    I know. But double tap does the job. Even if it's awkward
     
  12. richbike

    richbike Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Location:
    Brighton
    ditto plus?
     
  13. br000c

    br000c TDPRI Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2020
    Location:
    France
    I use the Boss RC-1: simple, efficient, great sound quality (and noiseless). Its a great practice tool

    [​IMG]
     
  14. schmee

    schmee Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    11,138
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    Ditto. Tried the RC-3 (bought two because I use two live!) sent them back immediately. But my thing is using them live.
    You cant kill if it requires tapping twice, singing, staying on beat, and changing chords all at once!

    I use two Ditto's and a switcher for instant kill.
     
  15. SixStringSlinger

    SixStringSlinger Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    3,500
    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    Space
    Ditto Looper's about as simple and cheap as it gets.

    [​IMG]

    I really only want a looper to fill in a little space behind me during a solo if the band/song arrangement requires it, or say to play the first verse straight thorough and then be able to paly fills over that for the second verse. This covers that just fine.
     
    fendrguitplayr likes this.
  16. PurpleStrat

    PurpleStrat Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    421
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Well since mine is DigiTech but older I want to get away from it. Bad taste I guess. The Boss seems solid but im not big on these buffered bypass.

    How does the NUX stand up to the big boys? Is the sound quality there?
     
  17. jvin248

    jvin248 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,145
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Location:
    Lions & Tigers oh Mi !
    .

    I have a Kokko SOS Flp2 clone of the Ditto Mini Looper, I paid $35 new for it which is about 1/4 the price of a new Ditto. I think the current version of it is sold under Ammoon brand.

    If you need a fancy looper, you can just buy two of these and still save a bundle.

    .
     
  18. DougM

    DougM Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,385
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    If it's the same a Ammoon, then it's really a rebranded Rowin. I have the micro one, but the new Rowin software to load loops onto your PC and back again doesn't with mine, and I lost the older software that did work when my last laptop dies, 'cause I didn't have it backed up on my external drive. They male some fancier ones too.
    RW-LEF-332.jpg s-l1000.jpg
     
  19. jimd

    jimd Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,406
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I had the Jamman Express. I replaced it with the Boss RC-3; much better features and it sounds better too.
     
    PurpleStrat likes this.
  20. Junkyard Dog

    Junkyard Dog Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    1,866
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    No, that is not normal. I have the DigiTech JamMan Solo XT and there is no noise at all. Are you using the correct power supply?
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.