Help me pick a new looper.

Discussion in 'Pedal/Effects Owners Clubs' started by PurpleStrat, Jul 15, 2020.

  1. PurpleStrat

    PurpleStrat Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    421
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    As much as I know about basic effects I know nothing about looper except that mine a Digetech JamMan is noisey when plugged up. Even if it's not on it makes terrible noise in the power supply? Is that normal?

    Besides noise I would like better quality recorded loops. Mine is so old I'm sure many are better. I want it to be pretty simple.

    Mainly use it for song ideas and little demos since I have no computer to record on.

    Around $150. What should I look at?
     
  2. PurpleStrat

    PurpleStrat Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    421
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Whoops wrong forum please delete!
     
  3. quadtele

    quadtele TDPRI Member

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2019
    Location:
    California
    Can't go wrong with a Boss RC-3. Lot of capability in a small package. Great sound quality in stereo if you need it. Add up to to more switches for more control.
     
    Gardo likes this.
  4. Gardo

    Gardo Tele-Holic

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    953
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2019
    Location:
    Lancaster Pa
    I use a Ditto Looper , 1 knob and 1 switch. It’s pretty simple to use .
     
  5. overlook1977

    overlook1977 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    Ive owned several and I like the Digitech JamMan Express. If you have other digitech gear like the SDrum or other loopers its nice to be able to link them so they stay in sync. Ditto is good, for all of them Ive always needed to tape a post-it note to remember basic instructions. Check Reverb for good deals.
     
  6. Mike M

    Mike M Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2019
    Location:
    07040
    gregulator450 and hdvades like this.
  7. jvin248

    jvin248 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,145
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Location:
    Lions & Tigers oh Mi !
    .

    Look for a Kokko/Ammoon mini looper. They run around $35 new and are basically a clone of the Ditto mini looper that sells $120 new.

    .
     
    Marc Morfei likes this.
  8. ndcaster

    ndcaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,629
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Location:
    Indiana
    I use a T-Rex Image Looper, got a deal on it

    it has the no-click switches
     
  9. TeleCrow RiverMan

    TeleCrow RiverMan NEW MEMBER!

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Wednesday
    Location:
    Mn
    Legato Looper. 9 presets, multiple overdubs, 9 minutes recording each, decently built, intuitive, and $57 new. Easiest looper I've used and it has worked well.

    Or a RC-3.
     
  10. Guitardvark

    Guitardvark Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Location:
    houston
    its 4 times more than you want to spend but I had an RC-3 and needed more.

    been happy with an RC 300 ever since for at least 7 years now. See many more happy loops in its future. lots of outputs. lots of inputs. Now I just gotta puts something on it :)

    https://www.boss.info/us/products/rc-300/
     
  11. littlebadboy

    littlebadboy Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,546
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    Another good testimony for the TC Electronics Ditto Loopers here! I am a big Boss fan, but their loopers just don't work for me. They suck tone and the models I had were complicated to use. I had the TC Ditto X2. I was happy with it that I upgraded to the X4. So simple to use and the tony bypass doesn't color any of my tones.

    I had to give them up because my modeler has a generous looper built-in.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.