Help me pick a modeling amp

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by Lamar Chipperson, Nov 5, 2019.

1. Lamar Chipperson

Lamar Chipperson TDPRI Member

Long story short, I am moving 1600 miles from a town of 700 to a city of 100k in a week. That move is also from a detached home to an end unit townhome. I assume that means no more getting my AC-10 into it’s sweet spot, so I’m shopping modelers and solid state amps. I’d like to keep the cost under 3 bills, to keep my wife happy. With my Vox, I run it fairly dirty and get my cleans by rolling back the volume on the guitar. I’d like something with a less Vox-y sound to expand my palate a bit. Right now, the leading candidates are the Katana 50 MKII and a Fender Champion 40 (or 50XL). The Katana seems like way more amp for the money, but my big question is can I get a Fender-ish clean out of the Katana with some tweaking? I’m a tech guy by trade, so using the software to dial in sounds is not an issue... If there is something different I should be checking out, let me know that as well! Thanks!

2. NewKid

NewKid Tele-Holic

If you don’t need to play loud, then the Yamaha THR10C is on sale at Sweetwater for $250. Fender Deluxe is one of the amp options but the Matchless DC30 emulation is my favorite.

The new THR2s have more amp emulations and models with wireless capability $300 - $500.

OR

Weber Micro Mass Attenuator for your AC10 for $100.

Good luck with those city folk!

DHart, Georox and Danjabellza like this.
  3. JDB2

JDB2 Tele-Meister

I was just going to suggest the Yamaha THR series. I recently picked up the 100 watt head, THR100HD, and its pretty amazing. Many are available used from GC. Has an effects loop and endless tweakability. However it has no built-in effects other than reverb and no presets. So it behaves like a traditional amp rather than a computing device.

I find it is truly touch sensitive and responsive to the guitar's volume knob.