Help Me Finish My Tele Wiring

StuartJames

Tele-Meister
413CE0F9-EDBA-489F-BC05-31A51FC2A91A.jpeg
6786D9A4-7F28-41FF-8280-FCE5195CA530.jpeg
B0B511DB-4458-4E80-BBE0-0E29DC7CA36C.png
It’s my first time at a complete wiring job so go easy on me. And I’m still learning the ins and outs of soldering. Just going for standard wiring on a 3 way switch.
I’ve been following this diagram. I have a Texas Special Neck that has 3 wires so I have grounded that extra yellow wire to the volume pot with the other black pickup wires
- Do I need that black jumper wire between the pots (above the capacitor)?
- Does it matter where the black wire from input jack goes (either pot)?
-Where exactly does the ground wire go to?
I have just put copper tape in the cavities. For the record it’s a Squier Silver Series with a SD Jerry Donahue in the bridge. I’ve put 500k pots in because it was sounding pretty dull compared to my other guitars
Would appreciate any input
Cheers!

viking

Friend of Leo's
A ground wire is a ground wire , doesnt matter which pot casing it goes on to. The black connection between pots are just a security , if the nuts work lose , so that the ground to control plate is lost.
I have no idea of the wire colors on TS pickups.
Be careful not to over heat capacitor or pots. Only a few seconds too long can ruin stuff.

Last edited:

Billy3

Tele-Holic
Happy first wiring day. The jumper wire is good to have between pots. You can ground that jack wire to any pot you want. Doesn't matter. Remember try not to overheat your pots.
Viking you beat me to it. Oops!

StuartJames

Tele-Meister
Thanks guys, so looks like there is a seperate ground wire going from the volume pot Does that go to the body somewhere ?

jfgesquire

Friend of Leo's