Help me buying Model Name: '65 Twin Reverb®

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by crcic, Feb 14, 2020.

1. crcic

crcic TDPRI Member

Hi,

I want to buy this amp. http://mimimuzika.com.mk/index.php/...zael/2011-11-30-14-37-31/3263-0217360000.html The price in the shop is approximately 2000 euros. However I guy is selling to me the same model for 1000 euros. The amp. is 5 years old and it still have the original tubes, so I guess soon or later I will need to replace them. The guy is a wedding band member so the amp. is played 3-4 days every week (not counting when he practice etc...) I was at his place and I looked the amp. and on the surface looks like brand new. The sound is also as it should be, but since I have no experience with this good and expense amps. can you tell me or give me any advice what to look/check so that I dont get f***** up. And also, id the price of 1000 euros good for 5 years old and this kind of amp?

2. Piggy Stu

Piggy Stu Friend of Leo's

The main thing I would say about this is how much people try to sell a similar amp as a Twin Reverb, such as the Super Twin, or The Twin, but say it is a TR

A genuine TR retails at about gbp1500 where I live, and there is always a secondhand one for sale somewhere in the UK at prices going down to 500

Half retail price for a used amp is not unusual. Seller might also have lied about how old and used it is

One last thing I would say is pick it up and walk with it before you buy. If your arm rips out of its socket with the weight, you might change your mind

radiocaster, crcic and rolandson like this.
  3. crcic

crcic TDPRI Member

For how old is he is not laying, he has a complete documentation with it, the bill when and how much he paid for it, the warranty etc... As for the weight I know it is heavy, but I will use it at home so I will only need to do the heavy lifting once. :) And I think it is original TR, here, I have some pictures.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. rolandson