1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Help fixing ground hum?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by TheWizard333, Jul 29, 2014.

1. TheWizard333

TheWizard333 Banned

I have a 79 Fender Music Master Bass amp. It has original red three prong cord. It's plugged in to a three hole wall socket.

It's humming when plugged into my guitar. If I touch any part of the amp that is metal, such as handle, it stops humming. How could I fix this?

2. DaBender

DaBender Tele-Afflicted

It sounds like your outlet might be bad. Throw the circuit breaker, then take the faceplate off and check the wiring.

3. TheWizard333

TheWizard333 Banned

It wasn't humming a few weeks ago. So I don't think its the outlet. I was just checking it because I might sell it today. So I need to fix the hum.

4. jazzguitar

jazzguitar Tele-Afflicted

It looks like your amp's grounding is bad, either in the amp or on the wall outlet. Try the amp in a different room.

If that does not help, see if the amp has a "ground switch" on the back panel, this may be in the wrong position (if it has three positions best leave it centered).

I take it for granted that the volume and other controls are the same as when it last did work without hum.

5. TheWizard333

TheWizard333 Banned

I did switch rooms already. I'll look for a ground switch. This is some bad luck.

6. TheWizard333

TheWizard333 Banned

Didn't find a ground switch. I really don't know much about amps. I know guitars good but I'm just learning amps. Oh we'll guess I can't sell it. I was going I use the money to help fund a tele.

7. muchxs

muchxs Doctor of Teleocity

That's kinda short notice.

There are a couple things to look at. Like several people mentioned it might be the household wiring.