1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Help Blown cathode bypass cap 5f1

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by IITTII, Sep 18, 2020.

1. IITTII

IITTII TDPRI Member

Hi, im a newbie when it comes to tube amp's but have a lot of exp. in electronics.

Anyway today i was playing on my joyo jta05 (5f1 champ clone) i was driving it really loud with pedals. And all of a sudden it started losing volume then i heard a loud bang then dead silence and the amp started smoking.

I opened it up and noticed a cap was blown anyway i took the time to take it apart and replace the blown 6v6 cathode bypass capacitor (50v 22uf with 450v 22uf) and while i was in there i tought about doing a few mods to make it better.

So i added a tone control, removed the low input and make it so that i only have 1 high input. In the place od the low input hole i placed the tone control. And i added a 350v 22uf capacitor to the C7 position as the 12ax7 cathode bypass cap.

All looked good and promising i put it all back together and turned it on. And all i get is hum and some low noise crackeling here and there. When i plug in my guitar there is no volume.

Now my question is why the amp failed, is the power tube (6v6gt) dead? , is the 12ax7 dead? , or maybe some other component is dead too? , why did the cap blow (cheap chinese caps)?

P.s.
    I checked all the resistors and other caps everything looks ok. All conections are ok so i dont know what else.

Did the power tube fail? Is it possible that it failed when the cap blowed or the cap blowed becouse the tube blowed?

All the tubes look ok and filaments glowing so i dont know what else to check.

Please help i bought the amp new 2 days ago and now i dont have anything to play on.

IMG-20200918-WA0017.jpeg
    IMG-20200918-WA0024.jpeg 20200918_201528.jpg

2. IITTII