1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

HELP! Baja Problems!!

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Iamthewalrus, Feb 13, 2008.

1. Iamthewalrus

Iamthewalrus TDPRI Member

Okay so i posted up a couple weeks ago about the new baja that i bought over ebay. It FINALLY came today and looks gorgeous!

But there are a few concerns i have. The first probably is nothing...But i was looking at where the truss rod hole is usually and this ones sealed off with a brown wood...does this mean truss rod adjustment on bajas requires dismantling the neck? (sorry if this applies to all teles, im new to teles)

And the second problem is a REAL problem. The S-1 switching knob, which is the Volume knob...when I first turned it, it would go 360 and back, in otherwords the knob was loose and doesnt stop at a certain point. I tried tightening the screw which made the knob catch, but the knob is still very flimsy. Is there a hole that the screw needs to go into? How do i get the knob off? i unscrewed the screw all the way out and tried to get the knob off but it gets stuck at the top so i didnt want to force it.

..And fyi the pot is not loose, just the knob....plz help! this baja is perfect in everyway except for this damn volume knob!!!

2. Fourth Feline

Fourth Feline Tele-Holic

Hi,

The truss rod adjuster is at the heel of the neck, meaning that you have to :

a) take the neck off to adjust

or

b) take off the scratch plate and access the adjuster head with a right angled flat screwdriver blade. If in doubt just unscrew the scratchplate and you will be able to tell what you will need if adjusting it without taking the neck off.

With my '57 re-issue Strat it is a neck removal everytime ...:(