1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Help a Tele Newbie Please!

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by RelicStrat, May 23, 2003.

1. RelicStrat

RelicStrat Tele-Meister

Hi folks,

After 25+ years of playing the gitfiddle I finally played a Tele for the first time this week. I've been listening to
    a lot of Hellecasters, Jimmy Olander, Jimmy Bryant, Pete Anderson, etc, and have fallen in love with the Tele twang. So being a total newbie in the ways of theTeleMaster I know nothing about them. I played two different '52 RI's in the past couple of days and the electronics have got me stumped. I thought the first one I played was a dud until I played another one tonight. When the selector switch is in the 3rd position (towards the neck) the the guitar basically dies. According to the Fender web site there is no tone control in that position. To these old ears there isn't even a pickup in that position. :D Is this normal or did I grab two duds. Of course the GC sales folks know about as much as I do about Teles. Fender's web site also says that a modern wiring schematic comes with the guitar so the owner can update it if he/she wishes. Does this solve the non-pickup issue? :) If this is normal I plan on picking it up tomorrow night. The one I played tonight sure was a purty thing. I think I'm the only one who has played it. There wasn't a single scratch on the pickguard. Played real nice and sounded good too.

I've been lurking for a while now and I have to say this is the nicest, most civil discussion board I've ever visited. A whole bunch of helpful and friendly people hang out around here. I'm glad I found this place.

thanks,
    RelicStrat

2. Jeff Young

Jeff Young TDPRI Member

let's see if I can help....