Help a newb decide on a amp for country

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by fiddlerIsaac, Apr 18, 2013.

1. fiddlerIsaac

fiddlerIsaac TDPRI Member

I've been researching amps and guitars for many years, but I've never actually had the money to spring for a good setup. Now the time's come and I'm second guessing my original thoughts for purchase. I need something that will do cleans really well for some good country twang, but still warm up easily for the neck pickup and a little blues/country blues or just a soft rock type of vibe. I have $500-600 to spend and I don't mind going used.

I'm pretty sure I want a fender, but I'm open to other opinions. The amps that have caught my eye are the..

Hot Rod Deluxe (looks like the perfect amp to me but I don't hear much about it on this website? I just hear about the blues junior)

Blues Deluxe (similar to the hot rod but I think it's a little warmer sounding plus I like the tweed:D)

Peavey classic 30 (heard a lot about this one and it's recently caught my eye, I'll have to see if I can find one to play on)

Please help fellas! I need to know why these amps (mainly the first two) are not discussed as much as others.. am I missing out on another great amp?

2. Telenut62

Telenut62 Poster Extraordinaire

VoxAC30

3. sacrificetravis

sacrificetravis Tele-Meister

Peavey classic 50 or a silverface twin

4. telemaster7082

telemaster7082 Tele-Afflicted

Ive had 2 HRD and i now have a classic 50. In my opinion the peavey blows the fender out of the water. Better drive channel and brighter cleans. The reverb isnt as good, but it works well. The price, especially used, is much better than the fenders and will leave you some money left over. The only thing I dont like about mine is the tube rattle. People say combos are notorious for this, but this is the first time ive ever experienced it.

5. Commodore 64

Commodore 64 Friend of Leo's

Are you playing out? Full band setting?