1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Hello FR: Oregon, strings question

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by obcbeatle, Jan 22, 2021.

1. obcbeatle

obcbeatle TDPRI Member

Hello, I've been playing my Tele since around 1976. I believe the manufacture date is around 1969. Always loved this guitar. But it's hard to pull the 1st string (when playing) as that string is so close to the edge of the neck, it's hard to get under it for pulling. Other than that, this is still the best guitar I've ever played. Love the feel of the neck. And the sound! Always has been my favorite for playing/performing. I'm giving some thought to trying much thicker strings on this guitar. Just to give it more grip for my fingers. I'm playing more chords these days (less leads) and I can pull all the other strings w/ no problem anyway (except that 1st string, which I just hammer a lot). Usually I put on strings that start w/ a 9 or 10. Was thinking of going as high as 11 or 12. Anyone have any suggestions/comments re: this, and about the strings you use on your Tele? Thanks in advance.

2. unixfish

unixfish Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

Maybe the nut is cut too close to the edge, maybe the neck is a bit crooked in the neck pocket (I had to adjust my Strat because of that), maybe I don't understand your question?

I use Ernie Ball 11s on my Tele.

Welcome aboard.

8barlouie likes this.
  3. 8barlouie

8barlouie Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

My thoughts exactly. Some pics would help.

4. brookdalebill

brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

Howdy and welcome!

5. strat a various

strat a various Friend of Leo's

Neck pocket or bridge saddle.

6. Dana Rudd

Dana Rudd Tele-Holic

Hello, welcome to TDPRI, glad to have you here.
    Photos would be nice to see.
    I'm using 10-46 on my Tele's.

7. Old Plank