hefferzon Telecaster build

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by hefferzon, Apr 16, 2012.

1. hefferzon

hefferzon TDPRI Member

Hello! Here are some pics of my Telecaster build. This is my first try building an electric guitar, except for a couple of piezo pup four string CBG's. Unfortunately I'm very bad at documenting my doings, so this is what I got, and now it's almost done.

Anyway, this Tele body started as a rather ugly 1m piece of swedish alder I got years ago for a one piece lapsteel I intended to build using my swapped out pup's and electronincs from a Squier Tele, but it never happened.

This spring I found the piece in my garage and felt I wanted to do something with it, and as I think Telecasters are very cool yet simple I decided to make a try and build one.

[​IMG]
    All routing done except neck pocket.

[​IMG]
    Finished with nitrocellulose rattle cans(one can of light vintage amber and two cans of clear gloss).

[​IMG]
    Here it is, sanded and buffed along with all the gathered parts including the Allparts vee-neck and Klein PUP's.

[​IMG]
    Doing some mock up while waiting for the ordered shielding copper tape.

[​IMG]
    I like this bakelite pickguard I got from ebay, but I'm not sure yet..

[​IMG]
    That's it for now..

//Jesper

2. edchavez

edchavez Tele-Holic

Looks good!

3. bullfrogblues

bullfrogblues Friend of Leo's

Very nice job!
    I like the looks of that pick guard, too!

4. hefferzon

hefferzon TDPRI Member

Thanks!

5. Crafty Fox

Crafty Fox Tele-Afflicted

Cool.

6. hefferzon

hefferzon TDPRI Member

Today I got the shielding tape in the mail, so this evening I've been shielding and soldering. I also mounted the pickguard, the bridge, the pickups and control plate. Soon it will be playable:)

image-1649030561.jpg

image-734822398.jpg

image-894298523.jpg

image-371183904.jpg

image-1599565995.jpg

image-4096141301.jpg

image-2164812108.jpg

7. Glen Smith

Glen Smith RIP

Wow, very nice!