Heavy Old Beam

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Johnny_B, May 19, 2019.

1. Johnny_B

Johnny_B TDPRI Member

Hello! Newbie here, first post. Found an old heavy wood beam that I cut up into 20” lengths in order to try to make a tele body. The posts are about 3.5” x 4” thick and slightly warped. I got the post from my father in law’s house, I guess he stored it away long ago and it must be very 40 years old or more. Not sure what type of wood it is, thought it looked like cedar when I cut it up, but seems way too heavy for a soft wood. Looking for advice from the forum. Is it possibly to clean these up and glue them together and make a tele plank. I might be able to use some heavy wood machinery to help make it happen. Just wondering if I’m creating more work than necessary. I just think it would be cool to use this wood.[​IMG][​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PingGuo likes this.
  2. Deeve

Deeve Friend of Leo's

Ain't no wood quite like OLD wood!;)

SacDAve likes this.
  3. TeleTucson

TeleTucson Tele-Afflicted

Welcome!

This reminds me of a standard fir 4x6 post that's been treated with some variant of a copper arsenate preservative, which companies have moved away from. It looks more like it was applied, though, rather than pressure treated because it hasn't penetrated much. The concerns are probably over-hyped anyway, but you may want to take some precautions (mask, etc.) when cutting.

Oh ... and a heads-up. The moderators may not be big on your avatar :D

(see http://www.tdpri.com/threads/posting-rules-that-all-must-follow-please-read.616711/ )

Last edited: May 19, 2019
  4. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member

If it's just old wood that hasn't been preserved it'll work out nicely. I did this with 4 leftover 4 x 4 hunks from a workbench leg project. The key will be how much wood you need to remove to make the joints to glue it up.

workbench leftovers.jpg

Johnny_B likes this.
  5. telepraise

telepraise Tele-Holic