Heart Attack, Mortality and a Good Latte

ChazFromCali

Tele-Meister
Just for fun / info / entertainment. I hope you like my story. It's an edited / condensed / footnoted version of what I posted on another forum that I used to frequent.

Background:
I was chatting online with my buddy Johan in Portland on Saturday night (Feb. 26th) about 10:30pm. I mentioned I felt terrible and I thought I may have food poisoning. I had gotten a burrito for lunch earlier that day and it might have been a little "off." I've had food poisoning before, luckily the last time was decades previously, but, I know what it's like.
He insisted I go to the hospital. .......... where? Totally unprepared for this - in every way.

Living in Rosarito, Baja Mexico I knew I should make a list and be prepared for emergencies with addresses - phone numbers of the clinics, hospitals, ambulances, etc. Always put it off. Net result, caught totally off-guard.
As a veteran I used the VA when I lived in the Portland, Oregon area. In the almost one year I've been here I've yet to go to the VA in San Diego and get set-up administratively. My excuse was always the three or four hour wait to drive across the border due to not having a Sentri Card.
*(Sentri is the magic card that lets you go across the border in quick, go to the front of the line, Rock Star fashion)

Had been having some tiredness and difficulty breathing for a week or so. But even hard-headed me realized something was very wrong. I was a bit out-of-it and feeling worse by the minute. Decided to go to Cruz Roja - (Red Cross emergency room in downtown Rosarito) It was a struggle to get some clothes on, huge effort to get my shoes on........

Got in my car, (forgot my phone in the house, which comes into play later) I think the clinic is downtown. Open? No idea. As I started driving, quickly realized I ain't making it very far this way. Sweating heavily, browning out.