Having trouble buying a guitar!

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Texasjtl3, Jun 28, 2014.

1. Texasjtl3

Texasjtl3 Tele-Meister

I haven't bought a new guitar in quite a while and i can't believe how difficult it's been to get guitar shops to sell me a guitar and i wanted to see if my results are typical for the marketplace now a-days.

I'm 55, well off and an architect by trade, so it's not like i look like a homeless person. I'm not the greatest guitar player, I just do it for fun in my office, but i play well enough to impress most.

In January, I first wanted to pick up a new Martin D18 in ambertone, so being in Michigan, i called the big known dealer in the middle of the state and had to leave two messages before getting a real person on the third try. i told him what i wanted and he said he'd check on it and call me back. I called back a week later to remind him and i haven't heard back since. Strike one.

Went to see another dealer, he looked in his computer for a couple of minutes and told me yes he could get one in 2-3 weeks, showed my the picture, just what i wanted. 4 weeks later i get a call it's in! Drive over to his shop and he pulls out the case and opens it up....it's a D-18 alright, but in a standard finish, not ambertone. i asked him why and he tells me that he wasn't going to risk me not buying it (though i told him i WOULD buy it) he goes back to his computer and the original one is sold. Strike two.

So know i decide that the guitar gods are angry i'm buying another Martin so i change course and decide a new telecaster is in order instead.

After reading up on all the options on this fabulous forum, stop in a GC and they tell me they've got nothing but the low end stuff, same with the other one's in the area.