Have you ever taken a break?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by BluesGuitarMart, Feb 27, 2020.

1. BluesGuitarMart

BluesGuitarMart Tele-Meister

Have you ever taken an extended break from playing guitar or music in general? I started playing when I was 13, I'm 37 now and have never really stopped, there was a time when I barely touched a guitar as I was playing 5 string banjo but I've never not played an instrument. I'm kind of bored of my own playing at the moment though and very uninspired musically so I'm thinking of taking a few months off.

Have you ever done this? How did it affect your playing? Did it happen naturally due to life circumstances, or was it a conscious decision?

telemnemonics and RoCkstAr256 like this.
  2. Togman

Togman Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

I had a break of 6-8 years when the family was young and I was working all hours. From what I can remember I just picked up from where I left off. I had kept all of my gear so I didn't have to source new equipment.

3. Fretting out

Fretting out Friend of Leo's

I never consciously have taken a break although I have gone through periods in the past where my “extra curricular” activities were more important to me and I would go a couple weeks to a month without playing
    I don’t think it hurt my skill level any although it was less practice

4. schmintan

schmintan Tele-Meister

wow, i literally just posted on this same topic. should have read the latest threads first!
    Ive been playing guitar in some form for 20+ years, since i was about 14.

Regarding your thoughts of taking a break, my own view would be to start putting structure on your practice and playing, so you start seeing improvements.
    Start using a metronome and practicing runs, record teh metronome speed. a few weeks will show it creeping up, showing progress.
    Start learning songs fully. as the number of songs you can play end to end increases you feel real accomplishment.