Guitar method books

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by markblues, Aug 24, 2019.

1. markblues

markblues TDPRI Member

I'm currently considering writing a guitar method book. Does anyone have any opinions as to what is routinely missing? Or any other useful tips of what you'd like to see?

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

2. zeedoctour

zeedoctour Tele-Meister

Lot's of instructional books have the "road-maps" that seek to visualize the theory they are trying to explain in words. The single perspective I find most lacking again and again and again (having played enough now to know what I'm about to say, as a beginner I did not have this experience and thus, understanding) is .... relating the lesson to making it work within the actual playing inside the framework of a song. In small chunks a beginner could take and work on as one little bit of a new idea, into a song structure immediately, before they lose patience to make it through what will always be a struggle, initially.

Does that make sense ?

Last edited: Aug 24, 2019
    OldDude2 likes this.
  3. markblues

markblues TDPRI Member

That's a really very helpful reply. Thanks for your time. I guess bite sized approach to playing a song...the different voices for example played apart and then together.

Sent from my EML-L29 using Tapatalk

4. zeedoctour

zeedoctour Tele-Meister

Yeah ... every song is made up of parts and sections.

Usually as a whole way beyond the "make enough progress quickly enough to remain focused and positive about that progress" level they are at in the beginning. It's in the beginning where most are lost or form the self image of themselves as a guitar player that might remain with them for years, and hold them back if that self image wasn't a good one.