guitar kit - staining problems

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by aboz65, Oct 15, 2019.

1. aboz65

aboz65 TDPRI Member

Hello, total newbie working on first build. this is a Sologuitar kit, and I am trying to stain it. I realize these kits come with a poly coat, which I thought I sanded off. however, judging from the fact that my stain has taken well n some parts, not at all in others, I must have done a shoddy job of sanding it off. what to do? can I sand more and start over? or am I better off going to solid color at this point?

I should add, I used an orbital sander with 320 grit, for what it's worth.

thanks

Attached Files:

2. hopdybob

hopdybob Tele-Afflicted

if there is a layer ontop off the wood, no stain will work because it can not soak into it.
    are you sure it has a poly layer?
    what i would do is sand it so the color would be equal, the you could try to mix something with a clearcoat and a solid color (with the same water based ore other solvend based color) and get a semitransparent finish.
    the more solid color the less transparant the clearcoat will turn out.
    hope this helps

Tonetele and aboz65 like this.
  3. mkdaws32

mkdaws32 Tele-Meister Ad Free Member

I actually contacted Solo guitars last week about this very thing. All of their unfinished bodies do have a poly sealer. It is possible to sand through the poly and to the bare wood to the point it will take stain, depending on the wood and how open the grain is. I did this on some kitchen cabinets I was refinishing and it took hours per cabinet to sand past the sealer after stripping the top finish. It can look very much like you are down to bare wood when you are in fact not. If you clean the wood with a clean tack cloth and there is any sheen at all, there is still poly there. If there is no sheen, there still may be. Application of wood conditioner can reveal if sealer is still present.