Guitar Identification

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by LWP11, Jan 27, 2020.

Tags:
  1. LWP11

LWP11 TDPRI Member

Hello, I am new to the guitar world and Im not very knowledgeable when it comes to some of the earlier models. I have an old Fender electric guitar serial number 20594. Ive found a little info on the date based on the ser number which appears to be around the late 50s. If any one has any info regarding age, model and value....id appreciate it.
    thanks

2. ale.istotle

ale.istotle Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

Appears to be an old Duo-Sonic. Two-pickup variant of Musicmaster which is written on your headstock. Short-scale student guitar. They shared a common neck in the first gen guitars. No idea of the value, but that should be enough for you to search around.

Greggorios likes this.
  3. Rev Rhythm

Rev Rhythm Tele-Holic

I'm no expert but a quick look at Fender's serial number dating, and a little info about when they stopped using that anodized pickguard tells me it's probably a 1958 Musicmaster.
    Screenshot_20200127-121913.png

Greggorios and ale.istotle like this.
  4. BigDaddyLH

BigDaddyLH Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

5. Greggorios

Greggorios Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

Looks VERY interesting. Hoping that someone here can suggest someone near you who can help identify specifics for you. Please be careful with it, particularly taking it apart if you don't have any experience. Best luck with it. Hope you'll keep us updated. Lucky you!

nojazzhere likes this.
  6. 2blue2

2blue2 Friend of Leo's

Sweet!

7. matmosphere

matmosphere Tele-Afflicted

It’s probably a ‘59 Musicmaster. The gold pick guards were done across the board in 1959 so that’s a giveaway. It would have only come with the neck pickup that looks original. The other was probably added later.

it was a entry level student guitar and I think they were made earlier than the Duo-Sonics ever were.