1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

"Gretschy" Telecaster Build

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by h2odog, Apr 5, 2017.

1. h2odog

h2odog Tele-Meister

I'm fairly new to building guitars. As I've been searching for information about how to go about certain things, I found this forum coming up again and again in the searches, and found some great information. I joined up just a few weeks ago, but really like the friendly atmosphere here. So different from a lot of the forums!

Anyway, I wanted to share a project I'm currently working on. This is my third guitar "build". The first two were eBay kits. With those first two, the idea was to get my feet wet in the diy guitar world and give my youngest daughter an opportunity to decorate them for me. With this current project, I started with a better body purchased from StewMac.

001.JPG
    Here's the body. Golden Age '52 Tele, Swamp Ash. The body I purchased was "paint grade". If you look closely you can see some spots that have filler in them. I decided to go with stain rather than paint. I'd already done the previous two with paint and really wanted to try stain.

002.JPG
    I used Orange Colortone stain, mixed with alcohol. A couple of test pieces of scrap to get an idea what the stain would look like.

004.JPG
    Here's what I ended up with after staining. I put the pick guard on after the stain dried just to get a feel for what it would look like. :)

AlexFelix and BorderRadio like this.
  2. h2odog

h2odog Tele-Meister

005.JPG
    Test fitting the parts. The neck is a MIM Fender Tele neck. Bigsby B5 Vibrato. It's a bit darker than my Gretsch 5120, but I'm ok with that, wasn't trying for a perfect match.

AlexFelix, mrz80, SnowStorm and 4 others like this.
  3. mefgames

mefgames Friend of Leo's Double Platinum Supporter