1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Great book discovery

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by superjam144, Nov 23, 2020.

1. superjam144

superjam144 Tele-Afflicted

Found 2 amazing books I thought I would share.

Classical Guitar Compendium by Bridget Mermikides and JS Bach Solos by Mark Phillips

51BBaq1z-AL._SX373_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg 51gHje3lAyL._SX361_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I am a beginner and rely on using tablature to decipher and learn classical music.

The Bach book is much easier and fun to play through. The Compendium is more advanced but equally rewarding.

I highly recommend these books as an intro to classical playing. Although I am very slow, the enjoyment in slowly learning these tunes is priceless. I was playing "Fur Elise" tonight and worked my way slowly through it, each time getting faster, until I came upon a "break" or "bridge" of sorts, and I felt that I really understood Beethoven's expression on a very human level. After playing I realized that he composed that part of the song to sort of put his personality and presence within the song as the notes worked there way down in half steps instead of in a scale pattern. He was sort of taking a minute to make himself known to the listener. And I felt that I understood his heart and soul expression as clearly as if I was listening to SRV in a deep solo. Or Hendrix on one of his deeper tracks.

This revelation would have mostly been impossible for me to make unless I had played it myself.

I find this hobby of learning classical tunes (even at a very beginner level), to be very good at busting a rut that I find myself in occasionally.

Last edited: Nov 23, 2020
  2. PhredE

PhredE Tele-Afflicted