Gotta have that 52 avri...

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Kmaxbrady, Aug 24, 2019.

1. Kmaxbrady

Kmaxbrady TDPRI Member

I’m new to the tele world. Been an acoustic guy since I was a kid. I got my first tele about 2 years ago. I went with a Squier CV, didn’t want to spend a ton of money because I wasn’t sure if it would stick, or if I would end up just playing my acoustic all the time. Well, it stuck. And as much as I like the classic vibe, I’m dying to get myself a 52 avri. There’s a used one in my local GC. I was in there playing it last night. It sounded amazing, and that neck shape is so perfect with that radius on the edge of the fretboard. Most comfortable neck I’ve ever played. It’s $1300, which isn’t a crazy amount of money, but I’m a young guy with a young family and I can’t justify it in the budget right now. So for now I’ll keep rockin the classic vibe and dreaming. That’s it, happy weekend y’all :)

Piggy Stu, Greggorios and howardlo like this.
  2. El Tele Lobo

El Tele Lobo Friend of Leo's

Why not buy an aftermarket 52avri neck from Stratosphere and upgrading the pickups on your Squier? Much cheaper, especially if you run across one slightly used. When you have more money, you can by a 52avri body.

3. zeedoctour

zeedoctour Tele-Meister

I was a Strat guy exclusively and just couldn't get the whole Tele thing, although of course I knew there were great players who just couldn't want anything but a Tele. I know there is greatness out there that I'm just not into. Then, a couple of years ago, I stumbled into a pawn shop guitar that had a bunch of features I could never have expected to find in one guitar.

1. Semi hollow (think 335 style) Never had one but was always interested. Turns out the guitar I'm talking about is even MORE hollow than a 335, although it has a short center block.