Got sacked

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Dan R, Sep 14, 2021.

1. Dan R

Dan R Poster Extraordinaire

I've been working for a national window company for the last two years. Everything was great. I liked the company, the people, the job. About 10 months ago we hired a new guy in the main office. It turns out he is "teacher's pet" to the Sales Manager who is the brother in law of the owner. Lots of family in the company but that has been fine.

All of a sudden this new hire is General Manager and more less everyone's boss. Here's where it gets interesting: He's never held a job even 2 years in his life. He has less than 4 years of experience in the window business and he's GM. Everyone is scratching their head wondering how this guy is qualified for this position. He's not, he's just pals with the brother in law.

I take my week vacation and return last week. The vibe in the office seems to be off. When the GM arrives on Friday unannounced, I become a bit worried. Sure enough he calls me in to talk. After some rambling around from him, I ask: Am I being fired? He says my position is 'being eliminated'. I highly doubt that is the case. It's more likely they want a fresh new face that is female in the showroom. They just hired a pretty girl for another office.

What made me rather angry is he admitted I was doing a fine job but I don't fit their 'vision' of what they want for the future. Company loyalty? Never again. Now I just want a job for a couple of years until I retire. I had two nice years, so at least there's that.

2. Mike_LA

Mike_LA Tele-Afflicted

Yup, I learned looong ago thru similar situations,
    "It's Not what you know, it's Who you know"

3. imwjl

imwjl Doctor of Teleocity

Best wishes and good luck. It's a strong job market so play that well. This is a great community with lots of expertise and support so we're with you for a good outcome!

4. Preacher

Preacher Friend of Leo's