Good Soldering Iron? - NOOB HERE! - Tips welcome!

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by dreamingtele, Oct 18, 2021.

1. dreamingtele

dreamingtele Friend of Leo's

Hi guys,

I'm in Australia, so probably recommendations for US-based Soldering Irons might be hard to source,

but is there a good Soldering Iron I should get? preferrably not too expensive, but I'm a believer of buy once, cry once, so definitely need something worth it and will last for a bit..

I'm planning to do some pickup swaps, and make cables or stuff.. I'm a beginner so I want to be able to have something I can use for a lot of things.. maybe also pedals? and then amps? AHAHAHAHAHAHA Just kidding..

but yeah.. also, what soldering tips can you offer??

CV Jee Beez and drewg like this.
  2. old wrench

old wrench Friend of Leo's

The Hakko soldering station is a real good and reliable performer - should be available in Oz :)

Plenty of power for stuff like soldering grounds to the back of pots too.

eallen, CV Jee Beez and Alamo like this.
  3. Telekarster

Telekarster Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter

FWIW - I use just a standard soldering iron that you can pick up at any hardware store. It's nothing special, and cost me about 12 bucks I think. I've been using it for 10 years now. Main thing is to keep the tip clean and tinned, oh... and be very careful not to burn yourself or anything else you don't want burned ;) Always know where it is, and what it's next to, and if it's on or not. Always protect your guitar and XYZ from dripping solder and heat. It can be a dangerous tool so just be careful. Hope this helps!

drewg likes this.
  4. trev333

trev333 Telefied Ad Free Member

hit the flea markets.... should be some soldering irons about for cheap....;)

telemnemonics likes this.
  5. gkterry

gkterry Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter