Good purchase '55 partscaster ?

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by kenmasters, Feb 2, 2015.

1. kenmasters

kenmasters TDPRI Member

Hi guys, I'm brand spanking new to this forum. Please forgive my ignorance. I've been a newbie guitar player for many years and I had a fondness to the telecaster since the beginning. I purchased a Squier tele that was quite nice but this particular model built in 2000 had a humberbucker in the neck. Rather than me mucking around with it, I decided to get another tele.

I picked up a "partscaster" locally. I had some questions and I wanted to get your feedback. I didn't spend very much $ if you were wondering. Cheers mates!

New MIM fender neck.
    - the neck is thin but very smooth. Squier had a thicker neck.
    - the serial number seems to be incomplete or scratched out. You can see in the photos that there was sticker that I removed and placed next to the numbers. There is also a stamp on the top part of the neck that says "USED". Not sure what this means.

Body is from? I don't know.
    - the seller says it's fender - probably mexican.
    - not sure what type of wood this is? Alder or Ash ? It feels lighter than the squier.
    - the colour is a whitish-blond translucent, I googled it and I believe it's suppose to replicate a '55 Mary Kaye? Worn looks amazing.
    - Installed is a fender brass compensated bridge, fender switches, CTS pots

How does it sound?
    - the seller says the neck is probably stock mexican pups, but the bridge is steward macdonald golden age... not sure.. sounds a lot better than my squier pups, very twangy. Probably keep them for a while, or upgrade the squier with something hotter/warmer.

Enjoy the pics!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. telex76

telex76 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Looks good, if the money was right.
    Congrats. Welcome.

3. KevinB

KevinB Doctor of Teleocity

You have an interesting "puzzle" there!