1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Good P90's for a Tele?

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by Lynxtrap, Nov 12, 2020.

1. Lynxtrap

Lynxtrap Tele-Holic

I have zero experience with P90's.
    Now I'm planning a Tele build and thought P90's would be nice for something that doesn't sound like my other Teles, but still not like humbuckers.
    And they kind of look cool ;)

I'm not looking at expensive stuff, this is my first ever guitar build and I don't want to sit with 400 USD pickups in a piece of crap, if that's how it turns out. I can always upgrade if the guitar is good.

The sound I'm imagining is sort of Tele on steroids. What I absolutely don't want is muddy or lack of twang - if I wanted that I would get humbuckers.

Do such pickups exist? :)

dasherf17 and ping-ping-clicka like this.
  2. Dismalhead

Dismalhead Poster Extraordinaire

You can get some decent P90s for less than $200 for the set. I had a set of Seymour Duncans in a '90s US Hamer that were wonderful. I think they run around $90 apiece.

If you want to save more than that, you can get Toneriders for $60 apiece on Amazon. I haven't used the P90s, but I've put Tonerider single-coils and humbuckers in half-a-dozen guitars. They all sound great.

drlucky and cnlbb like this.
  3. maj34

maj34 Tele-Holic

Look up Vineham pickups. He does p90 pickups that fit a standard tele body.

He's not the only one doing this I know, but his bridge is the only one I've tried. Sounds like a p90 to me.

Inexpensive pickups, highly regarded on the forums for what that's worth.

I have several of his pickups and very happy with all of them.

His neck pickups are not usually rwrp. I've talked to him and he's in the "it affects tone negatively" camp... I'm in the "it just reduces noise" camp, and he was happy enough to do a rwrp for me.