gonna get my first bass

golfnut

Friend of Leo's
So I've been playing guitar for about 47 years. Professionally toured through out the late 70's, 80's in to the mid 90's. Along the way I've fooled around on the bass, even played a few songs on stage, on bass. But have never owned one. In the past year I've gotten in to recording. I've got decent software for drum tracks but would like to record my own bass lines.
So I've looked at 3 that interested me. Even though I don't really know much about the different bass models. I have very expensive tastes with guitars. My main 3 are 2 Martin Authentic's and a custom shop 52 Tele. However I don't want to spend that kind of money on a bass. However I'd like one that is easy to play.
The 3 I've looked at so far and was fooling around with in the music store today are the 75th Anniversary precision 60th anniversary road worn jazz and an American Performer Jazz bass.
Out of the 3 my least favorite was the 75h anniversary precision. Although I've played with many bass players using a vintage precision and loved there sound for classic country. However if thats all it can do I'd rather something a little more versatile. Not sure if that would be a jazz bass. The precision had really high action and just didn't feel great to me over all. Yes the action can be fixed with a set up.
My favorite of the 3 was the road worn. It had a really convincing relic job, far better than my brad paisley silver telecaster. The setup out of the box felt good and the neck with little finish on it felt fantastic. The American performer felt good to and it was a very close second. I could be happy with that. It wasn't much more than the road worn.
To all you bass players out there, is it better to come up with the few cents more for the American performer or are those MIM road worns a good enough guitar to get by for recording and maybe the odd gig?

golfnut

Friend of Leo's