Going to my first guitar lesson. Been playing for 29 years...

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Sotakoira Musti, Apr 13, 2019.

1. Sotakoira Musti

Sotakoira Musti Tele-Meister

Yep, my first ever guitar lesson in on next monday. I've been playing guitar since 1990. Boy, do I feel nervous! It's even worst than going on your first gig.

My major malfunction is lack of skill to impro. I'm so boneheaded, that I need notes to tell me how to play a song. Then everything is all right. If I've hadn't bought Hal Leonard's Beatles Complete Scores in the mid 1990's , I'd still be playing cowboy chords or doing some stupid pentatonic scales up and down.

The "bible":
    11680103_800.jpg
    We have this saying in Finland, "hauki on kala". It means literally "a pike is a fish". The true meaning of that phrase is that you chant that mantra for 1000 times, to truly learn that a pike is really a fish. But still, you haven't got a slightest idea why pike is a fish. Just mechnanical performing, without any thought about what I'm really doing, and most importantly, why.

And that is the way I've been practising since I was a young lad. Playing song after song, repeating them until my fingers started bleeding. And yes, now I can master about 130-140 Beatles's songs, both rhythm and lead. Yes, that's indeed very nice. And the others (which I'm not so keen on) need just a little hint, and they'll go.

But when I go outside Beatles, or any other song I've learned the hard way, I'm in the middle of nowhere. If I have to impro a riff or a solo, I just can't go beyond pentatonic scales or somethn sh***y stuff I create. I've tried and tried, but my lack of creativity is just overwhelming. If my bandmate from non-Beatles band asks me to do a solo, usually it's just a total choke.