1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Glarry Thinline Project - Pickup wiring question?

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by GrooveVoyager1, Apr 8, 2021.

1. GrooveVoyager1

GrooveVoyager1 TDPRI Member

Hey all, hope everyone's doing ok. I purchased a Glarry thinline for a project a few weeks ago and wrapped up this past week.

I took before and after pics and I'm inspecting the connections to pots and noticed that most diagrams show the black ground coming from volume pot may be missing?
    There is a red wire with a tape on it but it appears to be leading to output jack.

I sure would appreciate it if any of you folks that are familiar with pick up control plate wiring would take a look and see what you make of it. It's my first project, so forgive the soldering job and any other observations would be appreciated.

Also, I meter tested the connections and both pups values checked out ok.
    Before securing the plate I plugged in and noticed a hum that was not there prior to pup swap.
    I inspected the wiring and noticed the HB neck wires had a small split and ground wires were frayed and exposed. I unsoldered, trimmed, and after tipping wires re-soldered and tested again.
    Noise virtually disappeared, even when OD stacked.

I plugged in again yesterday and hum noise may be back but only during OD effects (TS-9 and SD-1), so I may have to open control plate and inspect again for loose connections. I did set my amp/effects levels to accommodate the new pups so I may have to fine tune.

Anyway, here's a few pics, before and after. Original HB Neck has the yellow cable.
    New HB Neck pup has the Orange wire. Thanks in advance for any assistance and good health to all.

Attached Files:

2. jvin248

jvin248 Doctor of Teleocity