GFS rail pickups

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by tombob, Jul 7, 2019.

1. tombob

tombob Tele-Holic

Guitar Fetish single coil sized rail humbuckers.

2. tombob

tombob Tele-Holic

I was wondering about others experience with these. I have one in the bridge of a Tele that’s 10k and sounds great. I also have a Strat set that’s the 6/10/15k set. The 15k bridge is just too dull and muddy. I plan to put a series/parallel switch on it and use a 500k pot. I’m wondering if it might be worth a s/p switch on the 10k too.
    I remember they originally sold these as Bardon replacements which they are absolutely nothing like a Bardon but I really like the cooler wound ones. There’s more SD rail sounding than Bardon though.

BB likes this.
  3. Rev Rhythm

Rev Rhythm Tele-Meister

I love mine. I have Lil punchers in my partscaster. I'm just a bedroom guitarist for now but I do love all the tones I can get with just my volume and tone knobs plus a coil tap on these.

4. Teleterr

Teleterr Friend of Leo's

I think a pot change to 500k or even 1 meg will fix your sound problem w out a need for rewiring. As someone always says , have you adjusted the height ? Very close should improve treble w- out string pull.

5. tombob

tombob Tele-Holic

I’m putting them in another pick guard anyway so I thought a parallel switch might be good since I’m rewiring everything anyway. The bridge wasn’t bad with overdrive but I thought it would help with cleans.

6. frankjc

frankjc TDPRI Member

I have one in one of my strats, good sounding pickup especially for the price. I also installed a 500k pot.

7. tombob

tombob Tele-Holic

I’ve wired up a set in a Strat pick guard. It already had a push botton switch so I hooked up a series/parallel switch.
    2FD46D5A-EA4E-440B-B972-3DFDBE53E22F.jpeg

Zepfan likes this.
  8. G.Rotten

G.Rotten Tele-Holic