1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Genuine fret wear?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by teleile, Nov 12, 2020.

1. teleile

teleile TDPRI Member

So Im not good at saying about what wear is natural or ”reliced”. Here is my telecaster fretboard. Are there any experts out there?

Attached Files:

2. TokyoPortrait

TokyoPortrait Friend of Leo's

Hi.

I won’t be able to help you. But, I’m curious to know more about the guitar. What model it is, etc.?

That info will probably help others too.

Pax/
    Dean

3. radiocaster

radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

Looks fake, unless the former owner had really bad fretting technique. You're supposed to put your fingers closer to the frets, not in the middle between two frets.

But the answer lies in your own title. Fake fret wear is not a thing, although I don't know what the future holds. If the frets are not worn and the fingerboard is, it's probably fake unless it was refretted.

4. Wildeman

Wildeman Tele-Meister

Looks like a Roadworn? Factory done.

5. Steve Holt

Steve Holt Tele-Afflicted

In my opinion, no. That's fake. I'm an internet expert, which means I've looked at a lot of pictures but I don't actually know anything or hold an advanced degree in guitar relicing.

What you should see with fret (fingerboard) wear are more individual ovals on the lower frets and then they turn into full "blobs" of wear up the fretboard where the player does more bending. Take the strings off of a well played rosewood fretboard and hold it up to the light and the oil from your fingers should paint a pretty good picture of what real wear looks like.

If that guitar is a poly finish it would take years of constant playing to get those frets worn.

Dismalhead and Tommy Biggs like this.
  6. tanplastic

tanplastic Tele-Meister