1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Garageband vs. Zoom/Tascam Recorders

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by Whoa Tele, Sep 13, 2020.

1. Whoa Tele

Whoa Tele Friend of Leo's

Hey Kids. I'm in the market for a small portable recorder to use at home to lay down song ideas. I'd also like to use it to record band practices on occasion. Ease of use is my top priority as I'm not tech savvy. Currently im looking at Garage band for IPad or a zoom r8/tascam DS 008EX type unit. If I remember correctly the Zoom and GarageBand have drums but the Tascam does not. However, I'd mainly be using the drums as a metronome for the other tracks. Thanks for any suggestions.

telestratosonic likes this.
  2. Dave Hicks

Dave Hicks Friend of Leo's

I use a Zoom R8. It does have drum tracks. I can usually find one that fits what I've done/want to do. The R8 also has a metronome, though I haven't figured out how to use it in anything other than 4:4.

The R8 doesn't make cut and paste easy - I guess they assume you can use a DAW for that (Cubase LE comes with it). That's inconvenient if you want to comp a track.

D.H.

3. Whoa Tele

Thanks Dave. Have you ever used GarageBand. I just want the easiest option to flesh out ideas. I don't wanna have to scroll through 5 menus to lay down a gtr. Part.

4. mworthin

mworthin NEW MEMBER!

Garageband is a simple DAW, but it isn't an interface like the Zoom or Tascam. I have a Zoom H6, which you can use as an interface as well as a recorder, and you may be able to record into GB for the iPad using their Camera kit interface.