Garage door question

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by chet again, Jul 7, 2020.

  1. chet again

    chet again Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    1,928
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Location:
    iowa
    There's an automatic door opener/closer installed on my garage door. There's a remote that was supposed to open and close it but it has never done anything when you press the button. A little light goes on in the remote though. The thing on the garage ceiling looks like it's supposed to work and there's power to it.

    What is the problem with it? If I get a new remote will it work with the garage opener?
     
    bcorig and Toto'sDad like this.
  2. Fretting out

    Fretting out Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    4,869
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Location:
    Land of Mary
    I’d look up the specific model

    Sometimes you have to program the remote to the ceiling/wall unit

    I guess it’s radio frequencies or something

    My guess is if you get a new remote it will still need programmed so might as well look into the one you have, especially if you see a light on it and it’s not broken
     
  3. chet again

    chet again Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    1,928
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Location:
    iowa
    It's pretty gnarly and old so I don't think it works. It just has a button and no way to program it.
     
    Fretting out likes this.
  4. Steve 78

    Steve 78 Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    2,563
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Location:
    Melbourne, Austraila
    Mine is about 20 years old. I have to press a button next to the motor then hold down a button on the remote to program it, something like that anyway. I can also either set the button to work the door or the light.

    Sometimes it takes a few goes for it to work and it seems to reset every time the power goes out. Its a pain.

    I'd recommend having a look at the system installed in your garage and work out what make/model it is, then find the manual or programming instructions online.
     
    Lost_N_Austin and KevinB like this.
  5. BobbyZ

    BobbyZ Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    12,656
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Snellman MN
    Old might be better than new, they build um pretty cheap these days. Then again they've been building home garage door openers pretty cheap since they went to solid state remote controls.
    An the other hand the old ones don't have anything for safety features and will crush anything that gets in their way.
    You can get a new one for like 500 bucks or less. But this is the one thing that I like to hire a pro for. The only other thing I hire a pro for is bat removal! Garage doors can hurt you real bad, or someone else later on if not done right.
     
  6. stxrus

    stxrus Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    68
    Posts:
    5,061
    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Croix, USVI
    Could be the remote, could be the receiver, could be the interface between the receiver and motor, could be the motor. Trouble shooting can be fun or a PITA. Garage door openers can be very tricky and finicky

    Not knowing all the particulars, I’d be inclined to buy a new one and have it professionally installed
     
  7. CajunJ

    CajunJ Tele-Meister

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    May 20, 2020
    Location:
    NC
    The monster from the basement disabled it so it can easily trap you.
     
  8. Colo Springs E

    Colo Springs E Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    15,604
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Might depend on how old the garage door / remote is. Mine stopped working and I could not find anything new that would sync with it. Ours was original to our house (late 60s). Needed a new door anyway, so we just did a new install. Good luck!
     
  9. Buckocaster51

    Buckocaster51 Super Moderator Staff Member Ad Free Member

    Age:
    68
    Posts:
    21,038
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    Iowa USA
    Admin Post
    Do you know the make and model?

    How old is it?

    You say it has never worked. I presume that is under your ownership. Has it ever worked?

    If so, under what conditions did it stop working?

    On some older remotes, there are DIP switches that must be set to match the DIP switches in the motor unit. Have you looked at those?
     
    Fretting out likes this.
  10. Peegoo

    Peegoo Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,316
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Location:
    Planet Peegoo
    Put a new battery in the remote. The LED will still light up with a low battery.

    Use a fresh pencil eraser to scrub the battery terminals in the remote to polish them up.
     
    tery and Torren61 like this.
  11. Ronkirn

    Ronkirn Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

    Age:
    73
    Posts:
    12,026
    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Some remotes must be "paired" with the unit.. google the model, the instructions will tell ya how to do it.

    r
     
  12. 8trackmind

    8trackmind Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,506
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Location:
    Dark side of the moon
    He's locked out...again.
     
    drf64 and tap4154 like this.
  13. telleutelleme

    telleutelleme Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    19,468
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Location:
    Houston
    The older ones have little binary on/off switches so you can scramble the code that is sent. From the factory both are set to all off. Make sure they are the same. Lots of replacements available on flea-bay.
     
    koolaide and Torren61 like this.
  14. Preacher

    Preacher Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,878
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    Big D
    On mine there is a single button on top that you can press to fine tune the closed and open stopping points. If you hold that button down it goes into pairing mode, then you hit the remote button and hold it down and the button on my unit will start flashing and then it will go out. Pairing done.
    I had to search the internet for the procedure as my unit is almost 30 years old as well.
     
  15. tap4154

    tap4154 Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    10,398
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Southern California
    If you end up getting a new opener look at the liftmasters that are wifi-enabled. I can open and close it from my smartphone from anywhere in the world. It's cool because sometimes if I leave and am not sure if I closed the garage door, I just look on the app and it will say if it's open or closed, and if it's open I can close it.

    Screenshot_20200707-094917_myQ.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2020
    Torren61 likes this.
  16. Toto'sDad

    Toto'sDad Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    45,600
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Location:
    Bakersfield
    I have had to deal with garage door problems over the years, and I can tell you, I've learned just to call King Door a local place, have them fix it, and pay the bill. If you choose to work on it yourself, research it, then research it again. You can probably find your garage door programming instructions on the net, I was always able to. Some garage doors openers only did one thing, open and close the door, and only had one button on them, but they are from way back, I mean long, and long ago. The problem with the old garage doors is guys who know how, can drive up and down the block with various control units, and find out whose door they can open, and come back later and get whatever you have in the garage. Sometimes they open the door, go inside, close the door, break into your house and steal EVERYTHING. The garage door opener that I have now, has a disable function, that I set every night before going to bed that keeps me or anyone else from opening it with a clicker. You can also stick a piece of wire through the top of the door, and grab hold of the rope and disconnect the lock, and just roll the door up. Whatever you do, if you decide to adjust the springs on the door, use the right tool, and research how to do it, research it again, because those springs can KILL you.
     
    nojazzhere likes this.
  17. nojazzhere

    nojazzhere Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    68
    Posts:
    12,321
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Foat Wuth, Texas
    Toto's Dad didn't say the important part loud enough.......DO NOT MESS WITH THE SPRINGS!!!!!!!!!!
    When you say the power unit (on the ceiling) looks like it's supposed to work, what does that mean? Does it hum and act like it's trying to lift door? If so, that could mean you have a broken spring. Those doors are unbelievably heavy without the assistance of the springs. Since you aren't experienced with garage doors, I urge you (strongly) to call a garage door service. They MAY recommend a new opener, so be prepared to get a second and maybe third opinion.
    Or.....you could just build a carport outside and convert your garage into a studio......;)
     
    Toto'sDad and ArcticWhite like this.
  18. Boil

    Boil Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Location:
    B.C.
    It's been a while but I was able to get a wired switch that came with a remote, the switch replaced the original switch, wired to the two terminals where the usual doorbell type switch goes and if I remember correctly the remote activated that switch, worked well, I think it was from Chamberlin.
     
    nojazzhere and Torren61 like this.
  19. ArcticWhite

    ArcticWhite Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    889
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    I had my malfunctioning door adjusted by a pro a few years ago.
    Cost about 100 bucks, and I didn't have to risk my life messing with the springs.
    After watching him work, I realized that I didn't ever want to mess with one of these myself. And I'm the kind of guy who can rebuild car engines, build amplifiers, and reset acoustic guitar necks.
    There are things best left to professionals.
     
    Colo Springs E and nojazzhere like this.
  20. scrapyardblue

    scrapyardblue Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    central illinois
    First things first. Do you have a wall button that opens the door?
     
    nojazzhere and Torren61 like this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.