1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Gain Stage Topology

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by jmp81sc, Dec 1, 2020.

1. jmp81sc

jmp81sc Tele-Meister

Hi Everyone,
    I am looking for advice on my project. I am pretty new to building amps and this is my first effort at modifying a design.

I am in process of building a hybrid amp with a Brown Deluxe channel and a Brown Super channel. The Brown Super has an unused triode, so my idea was to use it as a switchable added gain stage to the Deluxe channel.

I copied the topology of the Mesa Mark I and designed it to go after the first triode and before the tone stack, but after reading Kley's thread on his new build and looking at his schematic and the Merlin book I am having second thoughts.

deluxe_6g3 input_schem.gif.png
    I am thinking of using this design instead. Which places it after the tone stack and recovery triode. Anyone have any ideas on the advantages or disadvantages of either design?

Thanks
    John

6g3 v2.png

drew1d likes this.
  2. ThermionicScott

ThermionicScott Poster Extraordinaire

You could try it both ways. There's hardly any loss to "recover" with this tone control, not like a TMB tone stack.

If I were building it, I might even put another tone control *within* the extra gain stage, so that the extra distortion doesn't sound too bright compared to the low-gain mode.

3. drneilmb

drneilmb Tele-Meister

The general idea here is that a tone stack can only regulate the frequencies that are being fed into it. A triode gain stage driven into non-linearity produces additional frequencies that we hear as the characteristic distortion sound.