G & L SC-3 advice

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by GibAnn, Apr 30, 2019.

1. GibAnn

GibAnn TDPRI Member

Hi Guys, or anybody out there, this is my first attempt at this so go easy, & just a reminder, that your replies will be coming over the Southern Hemisphere of New Zealand, where it is the start of our winter, Which of course gives me time to repair and tidy up some of my guitars.
    My old G & L SC-3 has a scratchy 25K push pull pot (25K because it's active).
    Ive sprayed it with contact cleaner, taken it apart put it back together, but still scratchy.
    I imported one from America, brand new (In the USA they are $12, but to get it here to NZ --- $75) go figure,
    Any way, put the new one in,,,,,,,,,,,,, Gues what,,,,,,,,,,,,, Just as scratchy as the old one.
    It stands to reason that the new one is good (And most probably the old one as well)
    So the Question I'm asking all of you,,, what else could it be.
    Thanks in advance
    Gib

2. Zepfan

Zepfan Poster Extraordinaire

Check all the solder joints?
    Had a wire with a break in it that gave me fits once with it's touching-not touching problem.

Could be a bad pot too or it's dusty from sitting on a shelf/parts bin. Maybe some Detoxit would help.
    What brand is it? I got some new Alpha pots recently that weren't so great and I've heard other's complaints lately. CTS and Bourns seem to be the best choice these days. I stay away from mini-pots, haven't had good luck from those ever.

3. Artslap

Artslap Tele-Afflicted

Earth wire?

4. GibAnn

GibAnn TDPRI Member