Fulltone '70 - AM Radio pickup

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by mikestearns, Oct 18, 2019.

  1. mikestearns

    mikestearns Tele-Meister

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Location:
    Hanover, PA
    I'm still working on dialing in my Fulltone '70. Its about 90% where I want it, but I noticed a new thing at band practice last night - with my guitar volume just about all the way down, I'm picking up some AM radio signals. Is this a common thing? Could make for some fun between song noise during live sets.
     
  2. tubejockey

    tubejockey Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Location:
    the bozone
    Is it in an enclosure? Is that enclosure grounded? Fuzz Faces are good at mimicking AM radios unless they are well shielded. Last resort, put a 5pF cap from the effect input to ground.
     
    Wally likes this.
  3. Shango66

    Shango66 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,294
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Location:
    Australia
    A good fuzz will do that!
     
  4. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    4,341
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    Sounds about right - try some different cables, or different location, but sometimes it's just there.
     
  5. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    36,657
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Sometimes rotating the amp 90 degrees will kill that problem.
     
  6. beninma

    beninma Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,231
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Location:
    Earth
    Yep.. my Orange Fur Coat (Foxx Tone machine Octave Fuzz clone) did the same thing. In that case the Octave knob had to be most of the way up and the guitar volume had to get turned down pretty much all the way.
     
  7. mikestearns

    mikestearns Tele-Meister

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Location:
    Hanover, PA
    If I can control it right, then its a feature and not a bug!
     
  8. chris m.

    chris m. Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,073
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, California
    I've had this happen with fuzzes and with wahs.....
     
  9. OttoCorrect

    OttoCorrect Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Location:
    USA
    Yup, that’s happened with both ‘70 pedals I’ve had over the years. Some fuzzes do that apparently.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.