Fulltone '70 - AM Radio pickup

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by mikestearns, Oct 18, 2019.

  1. mikestearns

    mikestearns TDPRI Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Location:
    Hanover, PA
    I'm still working on dialing in my Fulltone '70. Its about 90% where I want it, but I noticed a new thing at band practice last night - with my guitar volume just about all the way down, I'm picking up some AM radio signals. Is this a common thing? Could make for some fun between song noise during live sets.
     
  2. tubejockey

    tubejockey Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Location:
    the bozone
    Is it in an enclosure? Is that enclosure grounded? Fuzz Faces are good at mimicking AM radios unless they are well shielded. Last resort, put a 5pF cap from the effect input to ground.
     
    Wally likes this.
  3. Shango66

    Shango66 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,903
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Location:
    Australia
    A good fuzz will do that!
     
  4. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,419
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    Sounds about right - try some different cables, or different location, but sometimes it's just there.
     
  5. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    33,149
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Sometimes rotating the amp 90 degrees will kill that problem.
     
  6. beninma

    beninma Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    2,484
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Yep.. my Orange Fur Coat (Foxx Tone machine Octave Fuzz clone) did the same thing. In that case the Octave knob had to be most of the way up and the guitar volume had to get turned down pretty much all the way.
     
  7. mikestearns

    mikestearns TDPRI Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2019
    Location:
    Hanover, PA
    If I can control it right, then its a feature and not a bug!
     
  8. chris m.

    chris m. Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,751
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, California
    I've had this happen with fuzzes and with wahs.....
     
  9. OttoCorrect

    OttoCorrect Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    375
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Location:
    USA
    Yup, that’s happened with both ‘70 pedals I’ve had over the years. Some fuzzes do that apparently.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.