Fret buzz on new G&L ASAT Special

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by RandomPrecision, Nov 22, 2019.

1. RandomPrecision

RandomPrecision TDPRI Member

For my first foray into Tele-style guitars, I just bought a new (2019) G&L USA-made ASAT Special. I really like everything about this guitar, except it appears to exhibit a fair amount of fret buzz on the low (wound) strings. The worst is the A-string, particularly around frets two through seven or eight.

This was purchased brand new online. The seller did a set-up before shipping, but I can expect some geometry change due to different climates (southern California versus Chicago). I have done a little tweaking of the truss rod, both tightening it and loosening it. I have increased the string height. But I can't seem to tame the buzzing.

As this is brand new, and USA G&L guitars are Plek'ed at the factory, I am assuming the fret work should be perfect.

This is my first time messing with a guitar's geometry adjustments, but I feel like the setup is reasonable. Initially, the height of the low-E at the 12th fret was 5/64 of an inch (G&L factory height); I have upped it to about 6/64, according to my string action gauge. I upped the A- and D-strings the same amount. I really don't want to go any higher. I put a capo on the first fret and fretted the last fret, and used my feeler gauge to measure the distance between the low-E and 8th fret (to check relief): came up with about 0.013" or 0.014", but I've also tried with adding or subtracting 0.001".

When the strings are open, I don't get any buzz, except on that A string on a fairly hard strum. But almost all fretted notes buzz on all wound strings, and it's worse towards the nut-end of the neck.

Here is a video I made that demonstrates the buzz/rattle. This is just a quick cellphone video, but you can hear the buzz plainly.