1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Free me from the Acoustic Simulator!

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by RetroTeleRod, Aug 23, 2019.

  1. RetroTeleRod

    RetroTeleRod Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    6,311
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma, USA
    I'm thinking that a clean electric sound will be better for strumming than my infamous Boss AC-2. Perhaps a little compression might be in order? Occasionally I accompany my singing with a strummed or Travis picked part. I have either a Diamond Compressor or a Boss CS-3. Since they are both quiet different (see what I did there) from each other, which do you suppose would be more suited to what I have in mind? The CS-3 had a setting in the manual that is suggested for chording, FWIW.
     
    stanger likes this.
  2. schenkadere

    schenkadere Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    4,855
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    Is there something wrong with using an acoustic simulator? I think they sound pretty cool. Isn't it doing what you intend it to?
     
    RetroTeleRod likes this.
  3. RetroTeleRod

    RetroTeleRod Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    6,311
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma, USA
    It sounds a bit thin and tinny. Perhaps I need to work with it a bit more before I give up on it. Maybe Simulator + compressor might do the trick.
     
  4. hollowman

    hollowman Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    3,302
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Location:
    Kansas City
    why don't you try an actual acoustic? I have a Mexi-martin that sounds wonderful thru my para DI into a PA! i know it is an extra axe to drag around, but hard to re-create that sound IMO with a pedal...
     
    Sotakoira Musti and RetroTeleRod like this.
  5. scottser

    scottser Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,545
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    dublin
    acoustic simulators sound terrible through an amp - they're supposed to go into a PA.
    for strummy chordal things i just turn the volume down.
     
  6. schenkadere

    schenkadere Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    4,855
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    The AC-2 seems to have some decent shaping options...maybe it's just a matter of EQ? or your strumming technique? ;) lol
     
    RetroTeleRod likes this.
  7. RetroTeleRod

    RetroTeleRod Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    6,311
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma, USA
    Could be a little of both. :lol:
     
  8. RetroTeleRod

    RetroTeleRod Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    6,311
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma, USA
    I have a nice Martin, but I don't want to bring two guitars each time.
     
  9. jddub440

    jddub440 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    881
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Location:
    Tacoma
    Maybe a 7 band EQ following the simulator will be able to help you get the thin, tinny sound more managable??
    If not you can send the AC2 to me and that will free you of all your worries hahaha.
    I've always wanted to try the acoustic simulators.... however I'm sure my band mates are fine with me not having one to try!
    Good luck with yer conundrum Retro!
     
    Frontier9 and RetroTeleRod like this.
  10. bluesholyman

    bluesholyman Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,202
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Location:
    Salt Life, Gulf Coast
    You just need a mini-van with racing stripes to haul it all. Problem solved. Your welcome.
     
    RetroTeleRod likes this.
  11. RetroTeleRod

    RetroTeleRod Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    6,311
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma, USA
    The way I play I need...
    [​IMG]
     
    zippofan, dswo and Shuster like this.
  12. davenumber2

    davenumber2 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,500
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Location:
    Columbia, MO
    I would just find a nice electric clean tone and lose the pedal but I hate acoustic sim pedals. They always sound processed and unnatural to me.
     
    RetroTeleRod likes this.
  13. 4pickupguy

    4pickupguy Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,997
    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    I have a solution you're going to like because it involves buying another pedal to get a realistic acoustic sound!!
    23ABFF56-E708-46C2-A6D1-157C1A528568.jpeg
     
    teletimetx and RetroTeleRod like this.
  14. Shuster

    Shuster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,958
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Location:
    Bulverde Tx.
     
  15. RetroTeleRod

    RetroTeleRod Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    6,311
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma, USA
    "Wish there was a easy way through
    Wish there was a way to learn it all
    And have my bright new shiny tools
    Without the cost attached
    I think we've paid enough"

    Man...that song really speaks to me! :lol:
     
    Shuster likes this.
  16. RetroTeleRod

    RetroTeleRod Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    6,311
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma, USA
    Another pedal? You know me so well! :lol:
     
    4pickupguy likes this.
  17. dswo

    dswo Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Location:
    East Carolina
    Do you have a multieffect pedal? I've gotten passable acoustic sounds from my Zoom G1 Four and more than passable from my Boss GT-1, both of which have acoustic simulations. By "passable," I don't mean "convincing forgeries," but sounds that work well in the same sonic role. Compare synth strings that fool no one, but work in a song nonetheless.
     
  18. Digital Larry

    Digital Larry Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,721
    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Last night I played my Yamaha AES-800 guitar, which is one of my favorites. Others have come and others have gone. This one has 2 HB with a 5-way switch. One of the in-between settings splits both to single coil and then puts one of the left over coils to ground through a cap and tone pot. It's kinda like a varitone I guess BUT it makes a great acoustic-enough-for-live-work tone when played through a clean amp setting. I've never come across another guitar with this wiring scheme. Maybe it didn't get more popular because that one tone knob ONLY works in position 4 and it's a little confusing.

    https://www.manualslib.com/manual/722115/Yamaha-Aes800b.html?page=4#manual
     
    RetroTeleRod likes this.
  19. The_Doctor [EV]

    The_Doctor [EV] Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    358
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    Not so sure about acoustic-like TONE, but I can get enough of an acoustic-like RESPONSE from my Strat running a Dynacomp-style compressor, either just the middle pickup or the neck-bridge combo. Used this a lot when I used to play in a Johnny Cash tribute band, killed most of the sustain without losing too much volume. Might be worth considering.
     
    RetroTeleRod and dswo like this.
  20. teletimetx

    teletimetx Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    13,288
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    There is no problem so insurmountable that cannot be addressed by one more pedal, one more guitar and one more amp!

    Have you tried your acoustic simulator through a bass amp yet?
     
    RetroTeleRod and Moriarty like this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.