Fixing Echoplex EP-3 warble?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by gnd567, Feb 18, 2020.

1. gnd567

gnd567 Tele-Meister

I've been using an EP-3 for a couple of years now and it's been sounding great. It was in pretty good condition when I got it. But recently, the repeats have started to become very warbly and out of tune sounding which I don't like at all as I mainly use it for slap back echo. I have a new tape on the way but was wondering if it may be the rubber roller needs replacing or something else?

Does anyone have any experience with this sort of thing?

2. reckless toboggan

reckless toboggan Tele-Holic

Head cleaning.
    Roller rubber.
    New tape.

Alamo likes this.
  3. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

These units have electrolytics that need replacing just as our amps do. I have an EP3 that I need to overhaul since it was non-operable when I bought it.

codamedia likes this.
  4. sjwieczorkow

sjwieczorkow Tele-Holic

Don't forget to demagnetize the heads and the capstan. Make sure you bring the demagnetizer towards and away from the parts very slowly.

99% isopropyl alcohol is good with some cotton swabs. New roller can't hurt. Sort of expensive, but it will last a long while. Don't forget to clean the roller as well. Frankly, I think dish soap and warm water is fine. There are rubber "conditioners" for sale if you want to get fancy. Try not to use anything that will dry it out.

I would advise against using the abrasive mastering tape as you risk wearing little grooves into the heads.

Wally likes this.
  5. sjwieczorkow

sjwieczorkow Tele-Holic

Duplicate

6. codamedia

codamedia Poster Extraordinaire

Warble on old tape machines of any type is referred to and measured as "wow and flutter".
    It is common (to some degree) on all tape machines, but when it is not longer a tolerable amount, there are several culprits.

Any/All of these could be contributing to the problem.
    1. Stabilize the motor assembly.