1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Fixing a nitro finish... and everything else from an MJT build.

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by [J.K.], Jul 21, 2017.

1. [J.K.]

[J.K.] Tele-Meister

Hey all, I know this is a common topic, and I've looked through some old threads, but I thought I'd create a new one anyway.

Long story short, I ordered a white blonde Beck-style Esquire body (no heavy wear, though) from MJT recently, and the side of the guitar has some really bad finish on it that's bothering me. It's disappointing to say the least, considering I just got it.

Anyway, I was wondering what the best approach would be to evening it out. My initial impulse was to try and use some thinner to even it out, but I've never worked with that before, so I don't know how detailed you can be when using a thinner. I also have some paint that's just slightly off, and I considered trying to blend it in and isolate the spot with a clear coat (or maybe a slightly tinted coat to darken the lighter paint), but that seems equally prone to problems.

I think part of the issue is that I asked for only the sanded edges to be bare wood, but they painted the whole guitar and then had to go back and strip the paint from the sanded contours (even though I modeled the exact look in a picture just to be sure), so there's also some odd areas where the paint blends into the contours and looks really cheap.

I've attached a picture of the top part. I'd like to just fix this myself if I could, but the whole affair has been rather frustrating, especially after getting such a nice baked maple neck that I was excited to put to use.

Any tips/tricks?
    Would thinner help with the touch-up, or would it make it worse?