First time neck build, using cherry

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by tacomamc, Dec 26, 2016.

1. tacomamc

tacomamc Tele-Afflicted

I'm building a telecaster from scratch using some old pine and mahogany, but decided I needed to get my head wrapped around building the neck. I have a single piece of cherry that measures 1 5/8" x 2 5/8" x 61" long. You can see the end grain below. I'm thinking I should cut the piece I have in two and laminate them with the grain oriented so it's quartersawn. Im really a novice, but think this would mean that the boards would be oriented so that end grain of the boards would face each other. So if the end grain looks like the letter "C", then the two "C's" would face each other. Is this correct? I'd like as minimal finish as possible, but don't know how well cherry would hold up as a fingerboard. I plan to use tightbond II glue.

Am I correct about orienting the boards?

Tightbond II is strong enough?

Will cherry work well as a fingerboard, or should I cap it with something (maple)?

I'm also thinking about cutting the channel for the truss rod on my table saw before glueing the two halves together. I have a router, but no router table. Is this a foolish idea? Also planning to use a two way truss rod with the flywheel adjust at the neck heel end.

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

2. mikeyb

mikeyb Tele-Meister

Personally, I would never make my own neck but I admire your courage.

My only suggestion is to build several out of disposable wood before I would commit a prized piece to the effort. That way you could make all your mistakes, make patterns and jigs and perfect the procedure in advance.

I know that I made several chipped out/torn out, Bondo filled bodies before producing any treasures.

3. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member