First Tele, Questions About Knobs and PUP Positions

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by StompBoxRacer, Oct 23, 2019.

1. StompBoxRacer

StompBoxRacer TDPRI Member

I recently acquired a 1994 MIM Telecaster Special/Deluxe. (It is my first Tele -yay me right?)
    It has a single coil at the bridge and a humbucker in the neck, and a 5 way selector switch that will split the Humbucker.
    The tone knob doesn't affect the sound at all using the neck pick up. Is this a common thing for Tele's (like how the tone knob doesn't do crap on the bridge position on a Strat?)
    Or does it sound like something needs some fixin'?
    The problem is specifically on positions 1. Neck Humbucking Pickup and 2. Tapped Neck Humbucking Pickup (Front Coil). Any combination with the Bridge pickup and the tone knob works, either position using only the neck pickup and it doesn't.
    I hate to sound like a complete newb but I've always steered well clear of Tele's up until now.

Here are the stats (it on positions 1&2 as listed below that the tone knob isn't affecting sound:

Pickups: Special Design Humbucking Pickup (Neck),
    Special Tele (Bridge)
    Pickup Switching: Special 5 Position Blade
    Positions:
    1. Neck Humbucking Pickup
    2. Tapped Neck Humbucking Pickup (Front Coil)
    3. Bridge and Neck Pickups
    4. Bridge and Tapped Neck Humbucking Pickup
    5. Bridge Pickup

Any insight would be greatly helpful.

2. El Tele Lobo

El Tele Lobo Friend of Leo's

I had one of these, years ago. I can't remember the tone knob not working on the neck pickup though. That may be a mod someone did. It's possible it is a stock feature though. I never played with the tone down very much...except to do was effects. Those are great guitars though. I ended up replacing the bridge pickup on mine with a Joe Barden, both for hum cancelling and a better, less brittle match with the neck.