1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

first tele from scratch - in process

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by tklaavo, Feb 18, 2012.

1. tklaavo

tklaavo Tele-Holic

Hello
    I'm working on my first build totally from scratch. A basic tele with basswood body and maple neck. Couple of pics:

The body with neck test fitted (tight..)
    [​IMG]

The neck, freshly fretted
    [​IMG]

Headstock
    [​IMG]

The body has some typical basswood colour defects. The pencil marks around the bridge area are temporary measurements. It's two pieces "Tilia Cordata", an European species of Linden, probably very similar to what is called Basswood in America.

The neck is a two-piece maple, with double action truss rod, heel adjust. The simplest construction I could imagine and easiest for a total newbie like me.

Looking at the pics, I see the first fret is not properly seated in the slot, so I'll probably have to replace it.

I used CA glue in the fret slots and got some glue stains in the back of the neck. After careful sanding the stains are still visible. Is there a trick to get rid of them? Just sand some more? I'm planning a Danish oil finish on the neck.

The body needs more sanding and roundover on the edges. I'm trying to decide on the finish. I have no resources to spray (no equipment, no place..) so I have to use something I can apply by hand. A dark stain, oil, wax, something like that.

I'm open to ideas on the finishing!
    Thanks for looking.

2. tintag27

tintag27 Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

That maple is beautiful - look forward to following this build!
    Thanks for posting.

3. tklaavo

tklaavo Tele-Holic