First (Practice) Build

SpHowe3319

TDPRI Member
Hello, hello,

I have been learning about guitar building for several months, buying up the tools to get started, and digging into this forum.

I started making some templates and practice pieces to work on before the cold weather sets in. I work out of an uninsulated shed that doubles as storage during the winter, so all the tools will be coming inside in about a month.

Here’s the progress since the end of July…

I used Inkscape to print a body template over 4 sheets of A4 paper, lined up the grid marks added via Inkscape and taped it all together. I repeated the steps for the neck template as well.

Using a craft knife and self-healing mat, I carefully cut the templates out.

Note for next time: limit overlap between the A4 sheets, too much overlap lead to the upper layers flapping about while shaping the MDF. Though it didn’t cause major inaccuracies, it was fairly annoying to work with.

89C643EB-A3EF-467E-9951-E0586CC3885F.jpeg
4B6B3279-674E-40A9-910F-560A55B50A11.jpeg

Next, I laid out the templates on a sheet of 3/4” MDF and marked off the neck/body allotments. I used a Japanese pull saw to roughly cut the allotments (because I needed the practice with the pull saw).

D9B4C147-5181-402E-8585-1A6FCB3F23C6.jpeg

I glued the templates onto the MDF in prep for cutting them down to size. I didn’t have spray glue on hand, so I used a glue stick.

Note for next time: glue left by the stick dries too quickly while trying to cover the paper. Buy spray glue!

8D559885-B3A3-4A5B-B28A-3AD8B0B16BFB.jpeg

Roughly cut the MDF down to template size using a scroll saw ($15 at a yard sale!)

2F27A69A-D3C0-4D63-A592-1CD772B5653A.jpeg

Next, sand the MDF down to the final line. Not pictured: using my new Ridgid belt and spindle sander to do the lion’s share of the sanding. The spindle sander was great for sanding around the horn and small contours of the headstock.