First neck build - need some advice

GeekyToneChaser

TDPRI Member
I made a neck, sorta. It's my first attempt.

Started out well. Some issues though:

1. The neck ended up unusually thick at the heel. 1 9/32" I haven't made the body yet so I have the option to just route a deeper neck pocket. Would that be a bad move? I don't need interchangeable parts.

IMG_0161.jpg

2. When I thinned the headstock things went poorly at the bandsaw and it ended up thinner than I wanted. measures 12.19mm at the 6th string tuner peg and 10.2 mm at the 1st string tuner. I read about this being unsound structurally, so I attempted to bend a 3mm veneer but I couldn't get the radius to match and I'm afraid to mess this up further. I could add thickness to the back of the headstock, but for now I think I'm content to roll the dice and hope it doesn't bend or break. Advice is welcome.

IMG_0159.jpg IMG_0160.jpg
IMG_0162.jpg IMG_0163.jpg

3. The biggest issue and the one I'm stuck on, is that when I sanded the headstock transition the spindle cut in very close to where the nut slot needs to be. There isn't enough material now. I'm not "married" to the 25.5" scale length but would I have to move the bridge to use a 24.75" scale for example? Or would the saddle adjustments be enough?

IMG_0164.jpg

I'm stuck in analysis paralysis and I can't decide if I should set this aside and start anew, or keep working this one with its flaws.

Last edited:

GeekyToneChaser

TDPRI Member
The issue which I think is irrecoverable is your headstock thickness. The angle from the nut to the tuners looks to be massive and is going to cause issues.

I would toss this one and start fresh, using the lessons learned to make a better one.
Thanks RogerC. That's hard to hear, but I get where you're coming from.